VMware Cloud Community
sleeper1320
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Connecting a CD-ROM in vSphere on Server 2008

Hello,

Setup:

I have a test environment consisting of 5 physical Windows 2008 Servers. Two are domain controllers, one is the vCenter server, and the last two are file servers. The vCenter server supports a few ESXi 4.1 servers. All those components are working as expected.

Problem:

Since this is a test environment, I don't really have the hardware available to stand up Windows 7 workstations to install vSphere client on, so I installed the vSphere client on both domain controllers and both file servers. As a domain administrator, I can perform any action within vSphere that I want. However, any domain users (which may need to interact with the ESXi servers for testing) cannot connect the CD-rom device. Upon inserting the CD/DVD into the phsyical server and selecting CD-> Connect to drive D:, the vSphere client immediately notifies the user that "The device 😧 has been disconnected".

After some investigation, it's obvious this is a limitation with 2008 server. It appears the users are not allowed to interact with the CD-ROM at all.

Attempted Solutions:

I have already attempted to modify Group Policy on the domain to allow users to use the CD-ROM. This has granted access to the floppy drive, but not to the CD/DVD drive.

I know this is not exactly a vSphere problem, but I am hoping someone in VMware community has run across this and knows how to solve it. From what I am seeing, it may be a hard-coded limiation Windows set in 2008, but my research into this has't come up with any conclusive solutions.

Thanks in advance,

Chad

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AndySimmons
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Ah, okay. Passthrough IDE requires local admin rights by the user running the vSphere client.

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=102201...