VMware Cloud Community
centre21
Contributor
Contributor

Connect my VMs to the Internet...

I'm very new to VMWare and ESXi 4 and I apologize if this question has already been answered. I've been looking on the discussion pages and the Internet for a while now and I'm not finding the exact answer to the following question:

Is there a way to configure ESXi 4 to allow my VM access to the Internet.

Here's the situation:

I have a Dell PowerEdge 2950 with two NICs running ESXi 4. One of the NICs is my Managment VLAN and the other is my Network VLAN. The Mgmt VLAN NIC is connected to my company's network to allow remote access to the VMWare server. The Network VLAN NIC is connected to a separate internal network as one of my VMs is running 2003 Server and hosting it's own Domain complete with DNS and DHCP. Unfortunately, as a result of its isolation, VMs on the Network VLAN cannot connect to the Internet, and it is vitally important that these VMs have Internet access.

I need some guidance about how to configure my ESXi Host to allow my VMs to connect to the Internet. I've attached a screenshot of my networking configuration in order to help make things a bit more clear.

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
RParker
Immortal
Immortal

You need a NIC with access to the internet, or a proxy server somewhere on the network to allow those machines to pass through.

0 Kudos
centre21
Contributor
Contributor

Just to make sure I'm understanding what you're saying, are you saying that I have to create a new VLAN and VMs on the NIC that's connected to the Internet (which would be the Management LAN NIC)? Is there no way to route or bridge the two NICs/VLANs?

Thanks

0 Kudos
golddiggie
Champion
Champion

Post up the screenshot of how the vSwitches (both/all of them) are currently configured first... It will help us to understand how things are currently set up...