VMware Cloud Community
kenp55
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Connect ESXi 4 Update 1 dell customized server to MD3000i SAN with iSCSI

Hi,

I'm brand new to VMware ESX/ESXi products and for the most part, SANs. I have configured a few VMs with Server 1 and 2. I'm trying to connect an ESXi 4 virtual server to a SAN and am starting to get very confused about what I can and can't do. I'm hoping someone here can break it down for me as I could not find the answer to my exact questions.

Here's how I'm setup:

I have a Dell PowerEdge R710 with ESXi 4 Update 1 "Dell customized" (whatever that means) installed on it.

I have a Dell MD3000i SAN using iSCSI with a dedicated virtual disk pre-configured.

I would like to create VMs on said virtual disk.

I think ESXi 4 is completely free.

It seems like to manage the server, I need to use 1 of 2 products. The Vsphere client or the VMware Go web app.

If I use Vsphere:

I have the option to add a storage type through the UI.

I'm on a 60 day evaluation. I thought this was all free.

If I configure my iSCSI through Vsphere and then the eval expires.. what happens? Does everything blow up on me and then I have to buy a license to get it back?

If I use VMware go:

It seems like I have really no options to do any kind of iSCSI configuration in VMware Go. Do I?

I also have a XenServer set up in this manner and it is all free. I wanted to try VMware's bare-metal solution but now I'm wondering if I'm going to have to go back to Xen.

Can someone please relieve me of my confusion before I pull the plug on this experiment. Perhaps direct me toward the appropriate documentation on how to configure what I need with what I have at the free-est possible cost.

Thank you very much for your feedback and have a wonderful weekend!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

I would go through Webcast QuickStart and Webcast ESXi Webstart to help getting a better understanding.