VMware Cloud Community
NosliwKram
Contributor
Contributor

Completely New to Virtualization. Will take all the help I can get.

I am basically completely new to virtualization.  I have VMWare Workstation installed on my computer and have created a couple VMs for staging areas, but that is about it.  I am now being asked to create a fresh new virtualized environment for a relative, and would love to be pointed in the right direction.  The general setup will be the following:

2 hosts/servers

1 SAN for additional storage

Need to create a handful of VMs or so.  Not very many.  Definitely less than 10.

I need to setup all sorts of failover stuff and what not which can be dealt with later after I get started.

Some initial questions are:

1. Can I install ESXi on the two hosts without installing vCenter Server anywhere beforehand.

2. Can I create the VMs simply through ESXi after it is installed

3. Can vCenter Server be installed on one of the VMs that I create (seems like a chicken and the egg situation to me but maybe I am wrong)

4. Just a general idea since I am not to that point yet, but is it difficult for a beginner to setup failover, load balancing, extra storage with a SAN, iSCSI stuff, etc.?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

0 Kudos
11 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Hello Mark,

Hope this clarifies the questions.

1. Can I install ESXi on the two hosts without installing vCenter Server anywhere beforehand.

A : Yes you can Install ESXi on Hosts - ESXi is bare metal Hypervisor.

yes you can create a VM on any of the two Hosts and even Install a Vcenter Server on that.

3. Can vCenter Server be installed on one of the VMs that I create (seems like a chicken and the egg situation to me but maybe I am wrong)

A : . Guess I already answered this on the 2 question. once again yes it can be installed. and that is how I have my vcenter server