VMware Cloud Community
tjolo
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Cant extend my Datastore

Hello,

First of all i will share some system information, so its easy to understand the issue Smiley Happy

We have 1 V-Center server, controlling 1 ESXi 6 U2 server, with 2 local datastores and 1 iSCSI based datastore. (More ESXi servers will be applied later).

We want to expand the iSCSI based datastore on the ESXi host, and have extended it on the Synology server.

When looking at the the datastore in the vSphere client, we can see that the VMFS filesystem have been extended correctly - but the volume hasnt been:

Issue01.png

Im fairly new to VMware, and have normally been working in Hyper-V clusters - where expanding af cluster disk was like 3 clicks...

I would really appreciate if someone, would take the time, to help us through this Smiley Happy

Thanks in advance!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
flovv
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I hade exactly the same issue, Total Capacity showing less than Primary Partition and after that I couldn't do anything to get it to work in the web client nor in the old client.

I solved it by using these commands in a ssh to the ESXi

To get datastore name:

ls -l /vmfs/volumes/

To get device identifier (Partitions spanned (on "lvm")):

vmkfstools -P /vmfs/volumes/<Datastore_name>

NOTE: I'm not sure that the identifier always start with "naa.", but all mine iscsi were. Also note the ":1" later, it should be the partition and as far as I know, there should only be one.

Verify that there only is one partition on the VMFS volume:

partedUtil get "/vmfs/devices/disks/naa.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX"

To grow the vmfs datastore

vmkfstools --growfs "/vmfs/devices/disks/naa.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:1" "/vmfs/devices/disks/naa.XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:1"

Hope it works Smiley Wink

View solution in original post

16 Replies
Mattallford
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution