VMware Cloud Community
Kmartin472
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Cannot get NIC teaming to work

I'm a total networking noob so please excuse me in advance.

I'm configuring a virtual environment with 3 ESXi 6.0 hosts all with 2 physical NICs connected to a single Catalyst 3560 switch. I have 4 VLANs trunked on a port channel and have the 2 NIC ports on the switch assigned to that channel. I cannot get the host to ping half the time if I have both NICs enabled and I cannot get more than 1 VM per host to ping out. Here is the config on the switch for one host:

interface Port-channel4

description Test Host 3 Port Channel

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk allowed vlan 2,5,102,104

switchport mode trunk

spanning-tree portfast trunk

!

interface GigabitEthernet0/5

switchport mode trunk

channel-group 4 mode on

!

interface GigabitEthernet0/6

switchport mode trunk

channel-group 4 mode on

Everything I have researched is telling me that I have everything configured correctly. Is there further configuration needed within the switch or ESXi 6.0 to enable LACP on this port channel? Any help would be much appreciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kclark2907
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi

As the other have said, it sounds like your teaming / config is wrong - refer to http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-60/topic/com.vmware.ICbase/PDF/vsphere-esxi-vcenter-server-60-network...

Page 23 for standard switches

Page 76 for distributed switches

Page 93 for policy config

Regards

Ken

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Did you set the teaming policy on the vSwitch/port group to "IP-Hash"?

André

0 Kudos
jagdish_rana
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi,

How did you configure network teaming on Vswtich/Dvswtich?

0 Kudos
kclark2907
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi