VMware Cloud Community
centre21
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Cannot enable managment network...

I'm new to VMWare and VSphere and I was trying to log into a server with VSphere ESXi 4 but I kept getting hung up at the "Download Tools to Manage This Host From..." screen. I disabled the Management Network, hoping that it would allow me to bypass the login and get into the server, but it hung up at the "Download Tools..." screen again, only this time with a 0.0.0.0 IP. I tried to enable the Management Network again, but now I receive the error, "Management Network Interface Cannot Be Found". I'm not sure what that means and I'm having a heck of a time finding out.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
james887
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hi,

The screen you are seeing (Yellow screen with "download tools to .....) is the ESXi server screen. to manage the ESXi server and the VMs installed on it you need to connect a windows box, browse to the IP address (using a web browser) stated on the yellow screen and then download the VSphere client tool, obviously ensuring your network is working correctly. The VSphere client tool will then allow you to connect to the ESXi and manage it accordingl.

Hope this helps

James

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
danm66
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Just to make sure I'm understanding what you've done...

Installed ESXi

browsed to the ESXi's management IP address with IE or Firefox from a windows system

Clicked on "download vsphere client"

And...you browser hangs at downloading client???

(see http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vsphere4/r40/vsp_40_esxi_e_get_start.pdf for startup guide)

Disabling the management network will only make it impossible to connect to the host from the windows system and the client (when it's installed) useless.

Maybe try a different windows system to access the host from to download the client???

0 Kudos
centre21
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution