VMware Cloud Community
mlcooper54
Contributor
Contributor

Best way to add a second NAS to an existing ESXi 5.1 Cluster for high availability

I'm new to VMware and to these forums so my terminology may not be exact.

We have a new cluster set up by a consultant consisting of the following:

2 Production hosts

2 Test hosts

2 Gb switches

1 NAS containing 5 datastores set up with 5 iSCSI targets (terminology??)

vCenter Server running on a virtual Server 2008 R2

HA is configured

VDP virtual appliance

We purchased an identical NAS to add to the cluster so we can failover from the primary NAS to the backup NAS.

I don't quite know where to start on setting up the second NAS.

Do we set up 5 iSCSI targets on the second NAS and name them datastoreF - datastoreJ (originals are datastoreA - datastoreE) and have VDP (or Veeam or Unitrends) replicate the VM's to the new datastores?

Is there a way to automatically failover to the second NAS? (assuming replication is working properly)

Both NAS units are QNAP TS-869U-RP with 8 identical HDDs each (WD Red 3 TB), for a total of a little over 16 TB of storage each. Both NAS units are RAID6.

On NAS1 we have:

DatastoreA = 4.05 TB

DatastoreB = .24 TB

DatastoreC = 3.81 TB

DatastoreD = 4.05 TB

DatastoreE = 4.05 TB

The VDP Appliance is on DatastoreC.

I'm looking for best practices, pointers on what documentation to read, etc.

Thanks in advance,

Mark Cooper

15 Replies
tomtom901
Commander
Commander