VMware Cloud Community
bluesherpa
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Best way to access 2TB+ volumes

Please tell me if you think this is the best approach. I'm new to ESXi and I'm still learning how to take advantage of it...

I have a server with 8 x 2TB Seagate drives, an Areca 1230 hardware raid controller, and an additional 500GB Seagate hard drive.

I want to get the highest throughput and best performance from the 8 x 2TB drives and the Areca raid controller, RAID 5 support, and the ability to use the drive space within ESXi.

The system is currently configured as followed:

- ESXi is installed on the 500GB hard drive; I'd use a USB flash drive,

but the motherboard doesn't support booting from a USB flash drive.

- The 8 x 2TB drives are assigned to one raid set and, inside the raid set, 8 x 2TB raid 5 volumes have been created.

- Inside of ESXi, the first raid volume created a datastore and then I added the remaining volumes as extents.

- Gigabit ethernet (full duplex) - No jumbo frames

- 6gb of system ram with a core 2 duo processor

Space from the new datastore was assigned to one of the virtual machines and everything tested well. For example, I was able to copy a 2.4GB file from one directory to another in 24 seconds. That seems pretty good to me, since the drives specs show that they can sustain 95MB/s throughput. I'm in the process of figuring out how to install / use IOMeter to get more accurate test results.

I created a SAMBA share and ran two tests. Copying a file to the server over the network sustained between 50MB/s and 54MB/s. Reading a file from the server also sustained between 50MB/s and 54MB/s. This seems odd for two reasons.

First, I tested the system with Ubuntu and SAMBA (no ESXi) and files copied to the server at 66MB/s. The would imply that ESXi encurs overhead that slows network performance by about 12MB/s to 16MB/s. That seems like a lot and gives me the impression that I've done something wrong.