VMware Cloud Community
Process153
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Anyone using VVOLs??

Hello!

As I continue to gather data to assist with our migration to 6.5, I read a few articles on virtual volumes and how they apparently make things so much better but as far as i can see, they appear to offer few real benefits???  I'm no expert but it seems like one of the main benefits is the ability to provision targeted storage for VM's with a particular need for say fast iops and high availability.  This is obviously useful.  Has anyone identified any other real benefits?  Be good to get a conversation going Smiley Happy

Cheers!

Tags (1)
8 Replies
Process153
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Actually, this might be way more VMware VVol and HDS: An Introduction to the series

0 Kudos
virtualg_uk
Leadership
Leadership

Biggest benefits I see are:

Granular storage policies per VM, so you could for example assign a policy to a VM to be on flash storage and another VM or VMDK to be on slower storage without having to worry about datastores at all.

From a management perspective, the Datastore concept is old. Mapping 1 LUN to 1 Datastore is just a waste of time. Datastores run out of space too, so getting rid of this LUN to Datastore mapping makes a lot of sense to me, no longer do we need to "Make sure there is enough space on the datastore to provision a new VM, or to storage vMotion"

The VVOL concept is not new, but the integration into production storage arrays is relatively new so I would be very careful when selecting a vendor.

Graham | User Moderator | https://virtualg.uk
virtualg_uk
Leadership
Leadership

Also check out the HOL:

HOL-1708-SDC-2 - Virtual Volumes and Storage Policy Based Management

VMware Learning Platform

Graham | User Moderator | https://virtualg.uk
Process153
Enthusiast
Enthusiast