VMware Cloud Community
ilyo
Contributor
Contributor

Advice for new install..memory/compatibility

I have to admit I am fairly new at the virtualization world. I am transitioning from the "1 hardware for 1 server" model.

I am looking to create my first virtual server setup (Going to start with esxi 4 and move up to vsphere). Just have a couple of questions:

1. I am looking to use an HP Proliant DL380 G4. Although it does not list esxi 4 on the vmware HCL, I know the server has 2 x dual-core xeon 64bit processors. It currently has 3 SAS drives. Any issues with using this server for ESXi 4 or vsphere?

2. Any disadvantages to using 64bit Guest OS's? As none of the guest machines will require more then 3GB of memory each..would it be better to use the 32bit version? ***DISREGARD: I have discovered bios does not support VT...so no 64bit.

3. When speaking of memory, the physical server supports up tp 12GB of memory. I can assign that memory any which way I like with regard to the guest OS's? (obviously dependent on the version of Windows Std, enterprise, etc.)

Any advice appreciated!

Thanks

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

There probably aren't any reasons that you couldn't try to install ESXi 4 on the hardware. I would be inclined to install 3.5 rather than try 4 since you may have stability issues??? It may install just fine but it will not gain you much over 3.5. Memory can be used as you wish however since you can't install 64bit OS's you will have some limitations.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
ilyo
Contributor
Contributor

I actually have 2 DL380 G4's...so ultimately I would like to have both running VM's.

Outside of maxing each boxes memory (12GB) and adding a second dual port NIC to complement the on-board dual NIC's...anything else suggested to purchase for the physical server's?

As for storage, can't justify SAN cost, so will continue using the SAS drives...but will add more drives.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Luckybob
Enthusiast