VMware Cloud Community
inferno480
Contributor
Contributor

Adaptec 7805 PCI Passthrough Issue w/ ESXi 5.1 and Ubuntu 12.04 + Windows 2008 R2 guests

Hello,

I am pretty new to VMware/ESXi but I am taking ESXi 5.1 for a spin (free trial license) to see if it will become the hypervisor of choice for my home server.  So far so good, until I wanted to get around the 2TB VMFS limit by passing my Adaptec 7805 card through directly to an operating system.

I cannot, for the life of me, get it to work right.  I made sure I am using the compatible 1.2.1-29900 drivers on both the host, and the guest operating systems, but I am having some strange issues when actually trying to do the pass-through.  I don't know if I am encountering a bug or just doing something wrong or unsupported with my license?

As expected, after enabling IOMMU on the host's BIOS, the Adaptec card (as well as my NICs) showed-up under Advanced Configuration as being eligible for pass-through/DirectPath.  So, I of course enabled it on the PCIe Adaptec 7805.

I am able to get the device to be passed-through in the VM settings; and when I install the operating system Ubuntu shows the PCI card under "lspci":

inferno@amahi:~$ lspci | grep Adaptec

0b:00.0 RAID bus controller: Adaptec Device 028c (rev 01)

...and, if I try a Windows 2008 R2 VM, it will up as a "RAID Controller" with the yellow exclamation mark, as expected.

[...]

The headaches begin when I attempt to install drivers, on either type VM.  NOTE, I am not attempting to use both VMs at the same time, I've tried these one at a time with the opposite VM completely deleted.