VMware Cloud Community
cmp828a
Contributor
Contributor

600ms read latency on ESXi6.0 on Dell R510

Hello,

I just joined the VMware user group and just got my paid subscription going. I hope I am asking this in the right topic area.

I am self taught with VMWare and have used ESXi 5.5 and just recently built a new server for my home lab with 6.0 and the free license through the regular VMware site.

I was able to get a Power Edge R510 , bios revision  1.12.0 with dual 6 core X5675 3Ghz processors using a Perc6/i integrated bus / SAS / SATA controller.

At the moment, I decided to just build a RAID 5 volume with the 8 2TB hard drives with one on-line spare. Then I loaded the ESXi 6.0 on this volume and also at the moment have my datastore as well on this same volume.

For my lab systems when I want to run VMs, I figure since I would only run maybe 2 VM's at most at any given time, having the ESXi OS and the VMS all running on the same volume might  not be a big issue. I need to see if I can use SD card for the OS or flash drive, and keep the OS off the data store and volume of the VMs.  The VMs typically run fine, but when I perform say Microsoft Software Patch updates, The Window's 2016 Server VM at times will become non responsive and basically freeze up. The entire VM console stops responding. But just come back in an hour or two and it will be patched up and ready for a reboot.