VMware Cloud Community
BreathOfIT
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

1st ESXi install will not connect to the network

I have used VMware Fusion and several versions of Workstation. I am an IT student and I am trying to set up a virtual server environment for learning purposes.

I first installed ESXi with-in Workstation computer on my laptop. I freaking LOVED IT. I ran to the store bought a fresh HDD to install ESXi for my old Supermicro server (MBD-PDSMA+-O LGA). During the install I got a warning that Intel Virtualization support was turned off on my motherboard. I turned that on then restarted the install. No matter what I try I can not get the darn thing to obtain an address from my DHCP server. I even tried unpluging my router and using several computers on my network as DHCP servers. Each one I tried my whole network received fresh IP address yet my supermicro box did not. I tried using both network ports, port 0 alone and port 1 alone. After wasting about 24 hours I tried installing 5.0.0 and it worked right without issue. I would like to be able to update to the latest versions without being worried my network connection is going to die on me when I do.

Ideas?

My next issue is going to be storage because not even my JABOD disks show up from my RocketRaid 2220 and PCI passthrough doesn't seem to be an option for that card. Yep that's right PCI-X baby... Say what you want about RocketRaid, that card was sitting in the bottom of a cardboard box full of wires with no static case for a couple years through 3-4 moves and it's still working like a champ.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mfan51
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I had the same problem with a similar supermicro motherboard which has the same Intel Lan adapter as yours.  Using the e1000 drivers from 5.0 worked for me.  I followed the directions in this thread:

http://communities.vmware.com/message/2115391#2115391

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
spravtek