VMware Cloud Community
MartinaT
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi on Raspberry CM4 with eMMC

Hello everyone,

my name is Martina and I am an electronic engineering student.
I am currently working on my Master Thesis and the first step to my project would be installing ESXi on a Raspberry.

I have seen many tutorials on how to run ESXi on a Raspberry Pi 4b (8GB Model) but I was equipped with a Raspberry CM4 with eMMC by my supervisor, and I have tried to run ESXi on it for a week now without success.

The eMMC prevents the board from booting from an external microSD and I am not even able to boot from the USB drive to tun ESXi.
I have recently seen that wmare official website lists the supported ESXi-Arm Hardware, which for Raspberry are:

•  Raspberry Pi 4b (4 GB or 8GB Model),
  •  Raspberry Pi 400.

I was wondering if the issues I am experiencing in getting ESXi to work on the CM4 are related to the incompatibility of the HW I have with the task I am supposed to perform.

Hope you can help me with this.

Thank you,
Martina

0 Kudos
3 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Thread reported so moderators know it should be moved to the area for the ESXi on ARM Fling.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
cyprienlaplace
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hello Martina,

The ESXi Arm Fling does not support the CM4 at the moment. You need to ask your supervisor for either a Raspberry Pi 4b (with 4GB or 8GB), or a Raspberry Pi 400.

Cyprien

0 Kudos
TheRealHellcat
Contributor
Contributor

Hi.

I just installed ESXi on my CM4, it works no problem.

I used the offiziel I/O board, but it should work with others as long as they expose the "disable eMMC boot" jumper and the slave USB port.