VMware Horizon Community
DigeratiMVP
Contributor
Contributor

Where am I going wrong?

I am new to UEM and after reading several documents I still feel a bit lost.

I want all users to get the same desktop setup. Computer and Files icon on the desktop, Firefox pinned to start menu and task bar, kill Action Center, get rid off all annoying crap on the start menu, minus control panel, and printers and user directory. I want this to be mandatory. How?

Under personalization in UEM, I have Windows Explorer checked to use directflex and THATS IT.

13.jpg

WHY is it that for one of my test users it shows all this?

12.jpg

I think its saving all the things I am doing to Windows Explorer and task bar items, but for the other test users it IS NOT. Why?

14.jpg

Printers?? What is with printer mapping? I have added serveral printers to the VMware UEM console and if I don't set a specific condition, all printers show up for all users where I have the UEM GPO applied. Is that how its supposed to be? I would rather it be the opposite...

Thanks in advanced.

Sincerly, Frustrated.

5 Replies
Raymond_W
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi,

I want all users to get the same desktop setup. Computer and Files icon on the desktop, Firefox pinned to start menu and task bar, kill Action Center, get rid off all annoying crap on the start menu, minus control panel, and printers and user directory. I want this to be mandatory. How?

- you can do this with a combination of Shortcuts and ADMX based settings. Create a shortcut and make sure you select and fill in a folder under "Programs Folder", this will create a folder in the start menu. If you want to clean-up your start-menu, import your policydefinitions folder in the admin console under ADMX Based settings of UEM and configure the items you want to hide accordingly.

Under personalization in UEM, I have Windows Explorer checked to use directflex and THATS IT.