VMware Horizon Community
MrBeatdown
Contributor
Contributor

Struggles with migrating Folder Redirction off Persona and onto UEM. Something is deleting all the contents of the desktop and download folders.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to UEM and having an extremely tough go of it.

I am in the midst of a migration from Persona management (which was working, albeit poorly) to UEM (9.3.0.804) in hopes of unlocking all manner of shiny new features, more granular control for my users, reduced network overhead and all the greatest things since sliced bread.  Though I seem to have adequately tackled the app settings, I'm running into an unexpected roadblock with folder redirection.

I expected that folder redirection would be one of the most straightforward pieces of the puzzle, and the online resources (VMware Knowledge Base)  and this one https://blogs.vmware.com/consulting/files/2015/09/UEM-Migrations_v3.pdf with a lot more in depth "what to look out for, how do things work" seemed to be pretty straightforward. I already have it configured with persona, I just need to point UEM to the same folder and all's good, right?

The specific problem I'm running into is that after configuring my UEM GPO and applying it to my environment, (including setting folder redirection to specify the remote path that Persona management is already using in the UEM management console), my users log in and are given a blank desktop, with only the shortcuts from the all users folder of clone.  Initially I thought this must mean I'd missed and pointed to a location without information, but then I realized something in the login process is actually wiping the contents of the %username%\Desktop and %username%\downloads folders.