VMware Horizon Community
tully214
Contributor
Contributor

Policies to not apply to all VDI's

I am just learning UEM. I have apps I want for one pool and have created them with shortcuts. It appears they will be applied to all vdi's in every pool. Is there a way that pool 1 will not get the same apps and shortcuts as pool 2? Example some pools will need office 2016 and others 2019.

We have been using with UIA Plus Profile for writebale volumes but I see with UEM you are to use UIA only. What is the the go forward recommendation from vmware. Writebale Volumes or UEM?

Thank you

Tyler

11 Replies
DEMdev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi tully214,

All configuration items that you create in UEM have a Conditions tab, where you can define when you want that item to apply. The Horizon Client Property condition can be used to target pools, if you pick the Pool name property:

pastedImage_4.png

As for using UEM in combination with a writable volume: I don't think it's the case that you must use UIA (although I'm definitely no App Volumes expert.) It's just that if you use UEM to manage profile settings, it's a bit of a duplicated effort if you also save the profile data in a writable volume.

0 Kudos
tully214
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you UEMdev. Do you know is vmware pushing UEM or UIA plus writeable volumes as the go forward future?

0 Kudos
sjesse
Leadership
Leadership

They are different products that have different uses, but can be used together to solve problems neither can by them selves. Its not an either or situation from what I see.

DEMdev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi tully214,

Like sjesse said, these are two different products, each with their own feature set, but with a little bit of overlap in functionality.

I don't expect any major push in one direction or the other – it's really up to what works best for your scenario.

0 Kudos
Ray_handels
Virtuoso
Virtuoso