VMware Horizon Community
NeoChen176
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Condition of horizon smart policy have no effect

Why does setting the condition of horizon smart policy have no effect?

I want to block client drive and when I set the condition about Group Membership or horizon client property etc. only seting IP can do it.

My horizon VDI version 2206, vmware 7.0u3 , desktop is window 10 with pcoip , windows 2019 AD ,DEM the same 2206

Thank you

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DEMdev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@NeoChen176,

Can you provide a log file (at log level DEBUG) so we can see what exactly is going on w.r.t. evaluating those conditions?

0 Kudos
NeoChen176
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi @DEMdev 

I don't think my DEM policy is set on my desktop,I have set them to the same subnet,

but it always looks like default domain policy.

Sorry, I'm new to DEM. How do I set the debug log.

Thank you

0 Kudos
BenTrojahn
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I have never had an issue with application of Smart policies  but we are only on DEM 2111.   Hopefully its something simple and not a defect...

It should be noted that smart policies and many other DEM settings are processed alphabetically.   We typically use an underscore for the blanket policy and then override that.  The smart polices are cumulative for the policies that are matched but last match wins so for the client drive policy would only need to have the specific client drive setting in it. 

_Smart Policies Default External  (condition Client location=external) blanket disable client drive

Allow Clientdrives Read Write (condition user group membership) allow all.

Besides checking your DEM logs, for quick verification, settings should  be here when applied though session id key may only be RDSH. Some values can be manipulated on the fly for testing and some require a fresh session start.  

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\VMware, Inc.\VMware Blast\Config\[session id]