Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Does SDDC = HCI

Jump to solution

Our architects have stated that we will be implementing a VVD SDDC soon. I asked if this included HCI and they stated no. My questions are;

1. How often has anyone seen VVD SDDC deployed\implemented in a non-HCI configuration?

2. Where in the design documents may I find reference to a non-HCI (vSAN) configuration for compute clusters?

I have little experience with SDDC, however just about everything I have read refers to vSAN. Thanks for any clarifications.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@ERA_GoBlue,

We actaully see this quite often - especially for workload domain ckusters where customers wish to use existing storage investments or have specific requirements.

While the VMware Validated Design for SDDC is built on and validated with vSAN as the primary storage platform, customers can, in fact, use alternative storage as long as that storage is compatible with the vSphere version in the BOM. Below is an excerpt from the 5.0.x documentation:

Physical Storage Design:

All functional testing and validation of the design is on vSAN. Although VMware Validated Design uses vSAN, in particular for the clusters running management components, you can use any supported storage solution.

If selecting a storage solution other than vSAN, you must take into account that all the design, deployment, and Day-2 guidance in VMware Validated Design applies under the context of vSAN and adjust appropriately.

Your storage design must match or exceed the capacity and performance capabilities of the vSAN configuration in the design. For multiple availability zones, the vSAN configuration includes vSAN stretched cluster.

Additionally, if you look at the Deploy Parameters on the configuration workbook for 5.0.x you see that vSAN is optional:

pastedImage_2.png