VMware Cloud Community
Daisychick
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ubuntu p2v - converter fails generic error

Hello,

I'm new to vmware and I'm trying to teach myself. I have ubuntu 11.10 running on a spare laptop with linux converter server 4.0.1. I have the Converter Standalone Client 4.0.1 installed on a windows 7 machine. I have an ESXi server cluster running 4.1.0 that I'm a superadmin on. I'm trying to use the windows machine to convert the ubuntu machine from physical to virtual. I go the through the wizard and everything looks fine. I click start, it starts, and then stops and disconnects with a very generic error "Error: Unable to create the virtual machine 'ubuntu-test-machine'." no other reason given.

Can someone point me in the right direction? Either documentation is limited or my googling needs work because I'm having a hard time finding info on this. It's either outdated or a little to vague for a beginner. Point me in the right direction and I'm sure I can figure it out.

I appreciate any help. Screenshots attached.

65 Replies
SIPTEK
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I'm sorry but I don't know how to remove the lines from grub.install nor do I even know where grub.install is located.

Thanks

0 Kudos
SIPTEK
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I realize now that I didn't add the lines to the grub-install script but rather I instead just entered them at the bash prompt. It did fix the issue but now I don't know where or how to remove those lines as I can't seem to locate them.

Thanks

0 Kudos
patanassov
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Run 'which grub-install', it will return most probably /sbin/grub-install

Open it in an editor and look for the change. Commenting out with '#' at the beginning of line is enough

0 Kudos
DynamicJacob
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I know this is an old thread, but in my case it was INSTRUMENTAL in cracking a couple of tough codes.