VMware Cloud Community
Daisychick
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ubuntu p2v - converter fails generic error

Hello,

I'm new to vmware and I'm trying to teach myself. I have ubuntu 11.10 running on a spare laptop with linux converter server 4.0.1. I have the Converter Standalone Client 4.0.1 installed on a windows 7 machine. I have an ESXi server cluster running 4.1.0 that I'm a superadmin on. I'm trying to use the windows machine to convert the ubuntu machine from physical to virtual. I go the through the wizard and everything looks fine. I click start, it starts, and then stops and disconnects with a very generic error "Error: Unable to create the virtual machine 'ubuntu-test-machine'." no other reason given.

Can someone point me in the right direction? Either documentation is limited or my googling needs work because I'm having a hard time finding info on this. It's either outdated or a little to vague for a beginner. Point me in the right direction and I'm sure I can figure it out.

I appreciate any help. Screenshots attached.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ivivanov
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

You need to connect to the *Windows* 5.0 server. You don't need anything installed on the Linux source. After that you can select to convert a live Linux machine and there you enter the hostname or IP address of the source. You need to have SSH enabled and allow root to ssh remotely.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
65 Replies
ivivanov
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

I think the problem is that you are usingi an old version of Converter. Can you try to install Converter 5.0?

http://www.vmware.com/products/converter/

Daisychick
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

there is no 5 for linux and when I tried to use 5 on windows and 4 on linux, it would not connect.

0 Kudos
Daisychick
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution