VMware Cloud Community
MTH201110141
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Converter Standalone v4.3.0 - Error 29163

I've recently moved over to VMWare Player and used VMWare Converter Standalone v4.3.0 to convert my old VMs. Once all the VMs were converted I uninstalled VMWare Converter Standalone from the host..

I now find I need to convert one additional VM, but when I attempt to reinstall VMWare Converter Standalone I get the following error:

Error 29163. Could not copy file C:\DOCUME~1\<User>\LOCALS~1\Temp\converter-agent.xml

Where <User> represents my userid.

Things I've checked include:

• I'm an admin on the host
  • I've rebooted the host (Windows XP SP3)
  • There's plenty of disk space
  • I've cleared out the folder including hiden files
  • Searched VMWare forums and the internet for anything similar

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mark

22 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

what is your problem ?

you do not mention what you try to do ???

0 Kudos
MTH201110141
Contributor
Contributor

The clue is in my post:

when I attempt to reinstall VMWare Converter Standalone

Mark

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

try to  delete that xml-file

0 Kudos
MTH201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Already done that. Tried again and got the same error.

0 Kudos
ChandanNuckched
Contributor
Contributor

Hi MTH,

Stop and disable the vm converter service and then re-try please.

Let me know if this works for you.

Cheers!

0 Kudos
MTH201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the replies. Unfortunately there isn't a service to stop - I'm trying to install the software.

Mark

0 Kudos
ChandanNuckched
Contributor
Contributor

Okay, what vmware service is on the host then? none?

0 Kudos
MTH201110141
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare Agent Service

VMWare Authorization Service

VMWare DHCP Service

VMWare NAT Service

VMWare USB Arbitration Service

All 5 were there and running when I last installed Converter.

0 Kudos
ChandanNuckched
Contributor
Contributor