VMware Cloud Community
tellis1969
Contributor
Contributor

Redhat Conversion NIGHTMARE

Hi;

I am a Redhat newbie by ANY stretch of the imagination and I was given and accepted the challenge of virtualizing our existing RedHat installation (ver. 5.11)...YES I know it is super old...but the hardware is dying so it is more important to get it off there first....to that end; I used the VMware converter tool which seems to work fine until the very end   97%...and then it fails....I then boot up with "No Operating System found"...even a dummy like me realizes that it is looking for the grub loader in the boot partition but I am clearly too stupid to understand the myriad of ways that people are tossing around to deal with it....I have found numerous articles about the same thing...sort of....but I still have NO idea how to fix it.

I recently tried this but when I try to access the directory they are referring to with vim...there is nothing there...so that is yet another dead end.

VMware P2V Linux Conversion – The Essential Methods

FAILED: An error occurred during the conversion: 'GrubInstaller::InstallGrub: /usr/lib/vmware-converter/installGrub.sh failed with return code: 0, and message: Installing GRUB1 on (hd0)... GNU GRUB version 0.97 (640K lower / 3072K upper memory) [ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device/filename.] grub> root (hd0,0) Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83 grub> setup (hd0) Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... no Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists... yes Checking if "/grub/stage2" exists... yes Checking if "/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists... yes Running "embed /grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0)"... 15 sectors are embedded. succeeded Running "install /grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+15 p (hd0,0)/grub/stage2 /grub/grub.conf"... failed Error 6:

Mismatched or corrupt version of stage1/stage2 grub> '