VMware Cloud Community
drbking
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

More on "ERROR: Failed to take snapshot of a source volume".

I have seen previous posts on this and have tried to follow all of the suggestions but nothing is helping. I am running XP and have two hard drives, both NTFS and both have plenty of room. My destination is an external hard drive, FAT32, also with plenty of room. I am getting the message ERROR: Failed to take snapshot of a source volume. Possible causes include not having any NTFS volumes on Windows XP or Windows 2003 source systems, and not having enough free disk space.

I installed the converter as an administrator, I have rebooted multiple times, I ran checkdsk /f on both hard drives and the external drives, I have turned off all of the services that I am comfortable turning off, but I just keep getting this message. I've attached the log file.

Thanks for any help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ryan_gallagher
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I see that a small part of my reply was missing - running the microsoft thing, I found that I was missing vssui.dll. Downloaded it, ran the microsoft thing, and now am running converter again. Will know in the morning if it works (takes about 9 hours).

How's the conversion going?

-Ryan

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
19 Replies
ryan_gallagher
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Is the volume shadow copy service (vss) enabled and started? Does "vssadmin list shadows" produce anything? What does "vssadmin list volumes" output?

Any chance you could try Converter 4.0 instead of 3.0.3? You'll probably have the same issue, but the logs may be more informative. Thanks,

-Ryan

drbking
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thanks very much for your reply. The volume shadow copy service was enabled and started before I ran the program. Now that the program has failed (more on that in a minute), it shows that it isn't started.