VMware Cloud Community
Ryan425
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

How to create a VM to store until I have access to my ESXi.

Hey,  I'm pretty new to the VM world.

I have a lab that I'm trying to take multiple Redhat and Windows computers and convert them to run on an ESXi.  The problem is that I can't have access that ESXi in that lab.  I wanted to use vCenter Converter to do a remote capture, and then save them as a file on my laptop.  Then later on when I can get access to the ESXi,  I can upload them to the ESXi.  I know that i can take an image of my own local PC and create those files for upload,  but when I tried doing a remote linux conversion,  my only option was to send it straight up to the ESXi. 

So how do people typically create VMs if they can't have access to their ESXi? 

1 Solution
6 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Convert to VMware Workstation format: Select a Hosted Destination

Then later you can convert from that format to ESXi.

Moderator: Thread moved to the Converter Standalone ​area, this issue has nothing to do with vCenter.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
NathanosBlightc
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Hi

In the 1st step, convert your physical machines to the VMware Workstation virtual machines (P2V operation) and save their related files (like *.vmdk & *.vmx) on your laptop.

In the 2nd step, bring your laptop on the ESXi connected network and then run the convert operation again (V2V) to create a ESXi compatible VM.

Please mark my comment as the Correct Answer if this solution resolved your problem
0 Kudos
Ryan425
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution