VMware Cloud Community
PeteHelgren
Contributor
Contributor

Converting Windows 98

I have taken a couple of approaches to convert an existing Windows 98 physical machine to run in VMware (I am new to this, BTW). I first tried converting the machine using the remote option but I got an error when it was attempting to install the agent. Next I pulled the hard disk from the PC and put it in the same PC that I plan to run the VM on (WinXP Pro). I used the local machine option and chose the hard disk containing the Windows 98 installation. But the Wizard balked at not being able to find the OS and continuing led to eventual failure. Not one to give up, I downloaded and installed Ghost 10 and successfully built an .sv2i image. However, when I go to build the new vm from this standalone vm using this image I get an error when it tries to detect the operating system (Unable to determine guest operating system) and I cannot continue.

So, I thought Windows 98 was supported in a vm but am I wasting my time in trying to do this?

Thanks

Pete

0 Kudos
13 Replies
esiebert7625
Immortal
Immortal

Windows 98 is not a supported OS for Converter, you can use Windows 98 as a virtual machine OS you just can't use Converter to get it there. It's also not supported on ESX, just Workstation, GSX & Server

VMware Converter and its Agent run on the following Microsoft Windows operating systems:

\- Windows NT SP6+ (with IE5 or higher)

\- Windows 2000

\- Windows 2003 32-bit and 64-bit

\- Windows XP Professional 32-bit and 64-bit

http://www.vmware.com/pdf/GuestOS_guide.pdf

http://www.vmware.com/support/converter/doc/releasenotes_conv3.html#plat

0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

It'll probably take less time to just create a new VM and install Win98 from scratch. Probably less than an hour.

0 Kudos
PeteHelgren
Contributor
Contributor