VMware Cloud Community
clarkr
Contributor
Contributor

Converter error

I am new to the new vmserver 2 beta and the new converter. i have installed both of them on a new build. It has 2003 enterprise and it is fully pached up.I have included a network tools summary of the box. I have also included a .bmp of the error along with both of the log files. I can tell you that the server has NTFS and has almost 66 GB's free. any help?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

Thread moved to Converter forum. (Seemed to be more of a Converter issue than a Server 2 beta issue).

0 Kudos
KyawH
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Looks like you've got VSS turned on or some other imaging process such as Acronis going on. Stop all the unnecessary processes on the source machine including AV process, any application that might be running including SQL. If you have configured static IP on the server, stop DHCP client service as well as DNS services since you don't need them.

Also make sure the username/password you provide during the P2V process has admin rights on the source machine.

Try again and please post back result on this forum. Also indicate if the solution was answered or not. Good luck.

0 Kudos
theanykey
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Impersonating user clarkr-adm

Should be the local administrator for best practice

host = "deptapps1"

Should install converter directly onto your NT4 machine and convert locally for best practice

vmPath = "
jrmc-vmserver3\Virtual Machines"

Should be a mapped network drive for best practice

Creating snapshot using vss

Shapshot creation failed. driver=vss

Creating snapshot using vsnap

Vsnap does not have admin rights

Snapshotting
.\C: using stcbasic.sys

stcbasic.sys not installed or snapshot creation failed. err=2

Cloning failed!

Image processing task has failed with MethodFault::Exception: sysimage.fault.SnapshotError

SetState to error

ImageProcessingTask FAILED. Fault name: sysimage.fault.SnapshotError