VMware Cloud Community
sabby01
Contributor
Contributor

Converter Failed: Unable to create

Hi All,

Firstly, I am a newbie to VMware so apologies if I appear ignorant on the topic.

I am trying to create a VM of my local machine using VMWare vCenter Converter Standalone v5.0.0

Unfortunately I keep getting to 98% complete and it fails with the following status:

FAILED: Unable to create '\\.\vstor2-mntapi10-shared-31F59A9D00001000000000000F000000\$Reconfig$'

I have no idea what this message means. According to the log highlights it was "processing the reconfiguration datastore" at the time. I have exported the log file as per attached.

Can anyboby point me in the right direction?

Many thanks,

Paul.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
patanassov
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hello

Conversion has two phases - disk cloning and reconfiguration. It has failed on the second phase, which means your destination VM is still there with all the data on the disks. Yo may try just to reconfigure it, if you are lucky, it may succeed the second time. Click on 'Configure'.

If not lucky, pls upload the logs got from the task view, these are just UI logs and are not very useful.

Regards,

Plamen

0 Kudos
sabby01
Contributor
Contributor

Great. Reconfiguring worked!

Thanks for the help.

0 Kudos
thefutureme
Contributor
Contributor

I too have this error. I tried reconfiguring and it failed. Attached are all my logs. Any recommendations? Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
POCEH
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

The first error is 1450 which means "Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service." and then 1016: "An I/O operation initiated by the registry failed unrecoverably. The registry could not read in, or write out, or flush, one of the files that contain the system's image of the registry", so check your computer for disk free space, free memory, etc.. HTH

0 Kudos
thefutureme
Contributor
Contributor