VMware Cloud Community
BonnoB
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Coldclone does not see netword card

Hi,

It seems there is no recent version of the coldclone iso for vSphere 4.1 yet. Also the converter 4.3 is only distributed as a Windows installer. I had to download the one that came with 4.0 update 2. However, when booting with that CD on my HP Proliant DL380 G6 it claims it cannot find any network card. Smiley Sad

As this CD is a preconfigured winPE environment I don't know how to add a network driver. Is there a more recent version of this CD or do I need to figure out how to build my own with the proper drivers? Althoud I have SOME experience in building a BartPE disk, it has been a while.

Bonno Bloksma

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BillDyer
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Today I went to convert a HP DL380 G6 server using the VMware Converter Boot CD and the process failed because no network drivers were available.  I discovered you can use the peTool.exe file contained in the downloaded .zip file for VMware Converter to add drivers to the .iso image.  The process for performing this function follow.

Download (or locate) the VMware-convertercd-4.1.1-206170.zip file from VMWare
Once downloaded the .zip file contains the following:
coldclone.iso
EULA.rtf
open_source_licenses.txt
peTool.exe

The peTool.exe file is used to add software and drivers to the coldclone.iso image.  Please note that the VMware Converter Boot CD is Windows Server 2003 32-bit based, so any drivers or software you add will need to be based on this OS.