VMware Cloud Community
peteWine
Contributor
Contributor

File-Level Backups

I have a feeling this has been discussed before, but I was unable to find anything using the search function. Also, I am not an IT professional, so bear with me!

Sort of a unique situation here. We have a Server 2003 Terminal Server (30+/- users) VM running our bookkeeping/accounting/invoicing software and, prior to virtualization, encountered regular corruption on the database files used by the program. So far, we have not encountered any corruption since virtualization, but it has only been a few weeks. There are a few dozen of these files in MDF format, and I would like to implement rolling backups of these key files - one 10 minutes old, one a day old, one a week old, to simplify and speed DR in the event of corruption.

The issue I'm having with backups is that the DB MDF files are locked for the time they are being written to (hundreth of a second) or read (report being generated, may be several minutes). I need an unobtrusive backup method that will not cause corruption itself!

Would snapshots be an option in this case? I see no way of implementing them on a folder level, so I am assuming the answer is no. Input anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Pete

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Lakshmi_Gayatri
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Backups do not corrupt data. Snapshots can be used at a VM level. You can use VMware Consolidate Backup etp take fil backups of your VMs or deploy any backup software which has VMware integration so as to help you take file backups.

0 Kudos
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal

backup that utilize VSS (it should work with most backup software, make sure your vss is runnign fine) snapshot for your MDB will work great.

AttilaSzamos
Contributor
Contributor

Try Veeam - Backup and Replication v5, it is for backing up vSphere VM-s. It uses VSS for backup and for restore operations as well.

--

Attila

http://blog.szamosattila.hu

noahzenzen
Contributor