VMware Cloud Community
Linck1659
Contributor
Contributor

Doubt - Backing up VMs

Hello everyone!

I am looking for backup solutions for my company.

Right now i'm using a small Synology NAS with 4TB - that we already have - to test the Active Backup for Business from them.

The problem is: I can only create tasks and backup VMs that are not running, and we have many VMs running that we cannot turn off.

Does anyone know if it's possible to backup VM while they are running? Sorry for the "newbie" question, i am new at this, i am looking for this solution as it's a must to have backups and we have none and they don't want to expend money with solutions like Nakivo, Veeam, etc...

Right now we have the vSphere 6.0 Enterprise PLUS Edition.

4 Hosts

4 Storages

200+ VMs* - Around 70 Active VMs

Obs: I've noted that i can only backup using Active Backup for Business if the Datastore which this VM use has no other VM running that use this same Datastore too.

So i get this error:

ABB_Error.jpg

Thank you very much for your attention,

Hugo Alves

13 Replies
MikeStoica
Expert
Expert

Yes, you can backup a VM while it's running.

Take a look on how to configure here DiskStation Manager - Knowledge Base | Synology Inc.

0 Kudos
Madmax01
Expert
Expert

Hello,

not sure if this is may an Restriction from "Active Backup".

if you say you could only backup online Vm's > that sounds strange.  i don't know a Vmware permission restricting this.  either snapshot is allowed or not. 

Could you check that the Active Backup is able to resolve all Hosts and vCenter.   as if there is something not reachable > getting also inaccessible Alerts.

Good to investigate some more detailed logs,.... as the gui not telling much.