VMware Cloud Community
DubBoy
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Back and recovery

Hi Guys

This may have been mentioned a millon and one times and hopefully the solution will be easy and straight forward.

I am a relative newbie with VMware, I can build host and guests and thats really it.

I have to rebuild the host machine due to hardware problems.

I need to backup my guests, how do I go about doing it?

I have a NAS mounted and a copy of the primary datastore is stored there too.

Is this enough if I rebuild the host and simply point to the NAS datastore, will all my guests and  their configurations come straight back?

Do I need to do something else?

Im running ESXi 4.1

Cheers

Noel

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

So if I backup ESXi config with vicfg-cfgbackup,  then rebuild the host and import the config back in, it will be simply  just linking back up the NAS and either running the VM's from the NAS or  adding back into the local datastore, and adding them to the inventory.

Yes - this should be it. Just make sure that you have those backups in a good state and preferably tested.

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hello and welcome to the communities.