VMware Cloud Community
Leffingwell
Contributor
Contributor

Decomissioning and Active Directory/DNS

Hey everyone,

When we delete VM's, there are still objects in AD like computer objects themselves, DNS entries etc.. we have a large environment 1.4k+ VM's.

I'm new to my company but we're running into an issue where things like this haven't been updated very thoroughly, and now we're seeing a slow down because of it.

I'm trying to see if there are tools in place to assist with decomissioning VM's that will also wrap up the backend stuff for environments making use of Windows DNS servers and AD.  Looking forward to any direction or response from people in similar environments..

[side note: I've got ideas on how to powershell this out, but I don't want to reinvent the wheel if I don't need too!]

0 Kudos
5 Replies
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager

Have you taken a look at vCenter Orchestrator http://www.vmware.com/products/vcenter-orchestrator/overview.html, it's a free tool that's already included with vSphere and you can use that to orchestrate not only the VM deletion from vCenter but you can also integrate that with external systems such as your AD / DNS infrastructure to remove the AD objects and remove the DNS entries. There are several plugins that you can take a look at to help you integrate into your external system such as the Powershell  Plugin if you wanted to script all the entry removals or something like the SOAP/REST plugins.

vCloud9
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Purging stale AD records

You should be able to run dsquery to find and delete the stale AD objects; here is article describing it in further detail http://www.windowsnetworking.com/kbase/WindowsTips/Windows2003/AdminTips/Admin/PruningOldComputerAcc...

Purging stale DNS records