VMware Cloud Community
NeverStopLearni
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Inaccurate compliance results for distributed switch uplink port groups?

Hello,

I am relatively new to vSphere and recently installed 6.5 with Operations Management. After applying a policy on all objects against the 6.0 hardening guide (level 3) I began receiving compliance warnings for both hosts (with distributed switches) and distributed switch uplink port groups that forged transmits, mac address changes, and promiscuous mode are not being rejected. I confirmed that all distributed switch port groups for VMs/vmk's are in fact set to reject under Security, but I cannot find a way to apply those settings on the uplink port groups since the menu is different and there is no Security option. Am I missing something or should uplink ports be exempt from the hardening guide rule?

Example of warnings:

<host> has symptom vNetwork.reject-mac-changes - Policy is not set to reject Mac address changes (5.5/6.0 Hardening Guide)     Aggregated MAC Address Changes "true" = "true"

<uplink port group> has symptom vNetwork.reject-forged-transmit-dvportgroup - The Forged Transmits policy is not set to reject (6.0 Hardening Guide)     Forged Transmits "true" = "true"

Port group options

DSwitch_PortGroup.png

Uplink group options

DSwitch_UplinkPortGroup.png

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
caduncan
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

This looks to be by design. In my test environment, I tested using PowerCLI to force it to “false” and broke the management vmkernal, so don’t change it.

I also read an article discussing this (sorry I can’t find the link) topic. Security settings are at the normal port group level only. However, vROPS doesn't seem to differentiate Uplink from normal port groups, so for now I changed the symptom to “Info” until I find way to exclude specific port groups from the alert or policy while still monitoring the other port groups.