VMware Cloud Community
cloudjk
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vRA 7.3 - Ansible Integration

I'm fairly new to vRealize Automation Platform. I'm curious If any community members have done this vRA/vRO -> Ansible - HTTPS REST API to invoke a playbook after a successful VM creation. Need some guidance on how to achieve this goal. Appreciate any feedback. I do know there's a third party plugin for ansible but I'm looking to perform this without third party plugin. Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jasnyder
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Do we need to upload any plugin to support HTTPS REST?

No, you will just specify the protocol and port in the host URL.  It will add the server's certificate to the trust store for you.

Does anybody have any example of how to add a third party HTTPS REST in vRO?

Here's a quick tutorial using HTTPS to register the local vRO server as a REST host and enumerate and call workflows with it via API from itself.  The value of this particular example is basically null and void outside of showing how to configure a REST API using the plug-in.

Run the Add a REST host workflow:

pastedImage_4.png

Enter the friendly name of the host and the connection info:

pastedImage_5.png

Choose the authentication type:

pastedImage_0.png

Choose the session type (shared session = uses one credential as a service account; most likely this is the one you need), and enter the username and password.  If you choose per user, the currently logged in user's credential will get passed through.

pastedImage_1.png

Choose whether to use a proxy,  If yes, enter the proxy connection info.  If no, just continue:

pastedImage_3.png

Choose whether to enforce proper x509 validation (i.e. common name matches dns name), and whether you need client certificate authentication (and provide the key if yes).

pastedImage_4.png

After the host is successfully add, you need to add methods using the Add a REST operation workflow:

pastedImage_6.png