VMware Cloud Community
orian
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Subscription fail

Hi,

I have a subscription configured to run a workflow:

Data > Lifecycle state > Lifecycle state name equals VMPSMasterWorkflow32.Requested

Data > lifecycle state > State phase equals PRE

I also chose the folowing checkboxs: Blocking and Stop processing if the workflow fails.

However, If the workflow fails, the deployment continues and does not stop with a fail error.

Any idea?

Thanks!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
qc4vmware
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

I struggled with this for a long time.  I'm at version 7.3.1 so I can only speak for versions up of 7.x up to this.  Well, truthfully I've just upgraded everything to 7.5 but I've not gone back to test some of the documented ways to gracefully fail out of a deployment.  I can tell you what ended up working well for me.  At each stage of the deployment where I have subscriptions I set custom properties that track what has been done (grabbing an address from IPAM, creating a machine record in AD, modifying group lists etc).  At any point there is a failure I have error handling that sets a flag to fail out during the MachineBuilding PRE phase.  In that subscription if the flag is detected an error is thrown and the default error handler in that workflow checks for the other things that I track and cleans them up (remove an ip reservation, remove a machine object, etc).  Throwing an error here also triggers disposal of the vm so whatever subscriptions you have for disposing will also get triggered.

Hope this helps... during the machine building phase was the only way I found success but others who've more experience past 7.3.1 might have a different story to share.

Paul

0 Kudos
xian_
Expert
Expert

This is the expected behavior according to Configuring the Error Behavior for States and Events

You have three options:

1. Assign your workflows to the listed states (jumping to Error State)

State Where Error OccursError State