VMware Cloud Community
jpatrick62
Contributor
Contributor

Questions from a Rookie

Hello - I am a newbie to VMWare in general and VRO automation in particular, so please bear with me the following questions that I have.

1. In the API explorer of VR08, there are Types versus Objects. I have not been able to find an explanation as to the differences.

2. A javascript PROPERTIES object appears to be a Dictionary object from other languages - is this correct?

3. We are moving from VRO7 to VRO8. Some of the plugins - notably VCAC are no longer supported in VRO8. So I can see the VC:VirtualMachine in the API, but what replaces VCAC:VirtualMachine for VRO8? Is there a VRA VM object? Any hints on the VM object for VRO8?

Thanks!

3 Replies
manoj-t
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hey Rookie, 

Not sure if you have figured it already.. here's your answer:

1. Types are just classification in simple terms, where you see the Object and properties under it.

2. Object is the actual infra object that has some primitives like cpu/mem/size.. which are called properties. These properties could be used as your constructor in javascript.

3. A good question indeed.. since we had IaaS objects and VRA object during 7.x, vCAC existed, now I guess it's deprecated and the VRA:Machine seems to have most of the VRA level VM object properties while the VM level with VC:VirtulalMachine

Hope it helped!

jpatrick62
Contributor
Contributor