VMware Cloud Community
darrenoid
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

How to manually change deployment lease after maximum in vra 7.2?

Hello,

After upgrading to vra 7.2 the max lease date is now actually enforced, which is great. We were finding a lot of our end users where setting the lease to never expire! However, there are some circumstances where we may want to extend a lease beyond the maximum. As an administrator I should be able to do that even if the end user cannot. Does anyone know of a way to change leases beyond what the blueprint constraints are on a case by case basis?

Thanks,

Darrenoid

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Mr_Sanjay
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I think you can use cloudclient to detach the VM and later import to a deployment of a different blueprint.

Removing a virtual machine from vRealize Automation 7.x using Cloud Client (2144269) | VMware KB

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
SeanKohler
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Well... you won't get around it through normal request.  The error/constraint is on REST POST.

I would try to handle this requirement by having a Blueprint that has a much longer max lease time.  Reconfigure the machine (consumer resource) to that blueprint.  Extend the lease to within the new, much longer, maximum.

This Blueprint doesn't need to be entitled to the end user for the machine to be assigned to it post provision, however it will greatly depend on the methods you use with Resource Actions. In the worse case, you could just have the catalog item available for request, but put an approval policy on it to prevent your users from requesting it.

0 Kudos
SeanKohler
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution