VMware Cloud Community
SureshKumarR
Contributor
Contributor

Add a new public cloud as vender (similar to amazon AWS)

Hi,

I am new to vCAC. I am doing R&D for a project where I need integrate (add as new vender) the X public cloud into vCAC 6.0 as a vender. The public cloud I have does supports all its operation top-end via REST APIs.

Based on going through different topics, as per my understanding I think I can achieve this in two different ways,

1. Through vCAC vCO integration.
    1. In this approach I add vCO as my new endpoint for my public cloud, and then add different workflows to integrate to my public cloud.
  2. Second approach add new sub model.
    1. vCAC exposes its data model via ODATA.
    2. Extend ManagementModelEntities.svc and create MyPublicCloud_ ManagementModelEntities.svc

I looking for more details about second approach where I could create sub model similar to amazon cloud. Could anyone help in this!

Thanks

Tags (2)
2 Replies
d-fens
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi SumeshKumarR,

it is probably a little bit more than just extending the ManagementModelEntites.svc
and plus the whole process on how to do that is -to say the least- not we
ll documented.

In my opinion, you would first have to determine how your cloud model differs from the standard models. Based on that you  have to define an agent that reports back to vCAC about the resources you have in your cloud. Maybe you have to extend the model but more likely only for the 'compute resource' part (or equivalent). The actual provisioning might be different, but maybe could can just use the normal CreateBasicVm provisioning workflow and skip the steps (might save you some time,instead of writing your own provisioning workflow). If you want to use vCO or not might only be a question of performance.