Highlighted
User Moderator
User Moderator

Visual Studio 2015 in standard appstack

Jump to solution

Hi has anyone successfully captured visual studio in a standard appstack. I see posts that suggest to install on the parent image, but none that report that it has worked. I am using appvolumes 2.10 and the appstack works fine if I have it attached to the build/provisioning desktop, but attached to a desktop pool it fails. The build/provisioning desktops are direct clones of the parent image(with all, but the appvolumes agent uninstalled), so the SID is the same. I also know this since another program we use that requires the SID to be the same installs and works as expected.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Just insert these two lines at the end of the startup.bat

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE\DDConfigCA.exe"

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE\StorePID.exe" [product key including the dashes] [MPC]

Visual Studio-EditionMPC
Visual Studio Professional 201306177
Visual Studio Premium 201306191
Visual Studio Ultimate 201306181
Visual Studio Professional 201507062
Visual Studio Enterprise 201507060
Visual Studio Professional 201708862
Visual Studio Enterprise 201708860

View solution in original post

13 Replies
Highlighted
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

We tried packaging the Visual Studio Express 2013 but eventually gave up.

Problem with the free version is that it activates against the name of the machine (or at least that's what I think). Strange thing is that this is the free version and we seem to have a licensing issue with it..

0 Kudos
Highlighted
User Moderator
User Moderator

Support told me the community version most likely wouldn't work, but professional should. I need 2015, but I kinda want to try 2013 according to this demo its supposed to work

VMware App Volumes for Developer Desktops Quick Demo Guide - VMware TestDrive Support

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Pro should work indeed. It's because you would need to have a valid license key to activate it.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello, I have created a working AppStack which includes Visual Studio 2015 Professional. Our license key comes from the MS VLSC and the desktops have a different SID than the provisioning machine. The licensing is done via the startup.bat.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi ZellOr,

Can you expand on how you licence via the startup.bat?

Regards,

Martin

Horizon Client 5.4.3 Appvol Manager 2.18 Appvol Client 2.18.6 UEM 9.10
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Expert
Expert

Yes, can you please expand little more on your process?

Thank you,

Vkmr.

Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Just insert these two lines at the end of the startup.bat

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE\DDConfigCA.exe"

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE\StorePID.exe" [product key including the dashes] [MPC]

Visual Studio-EditionMPC
Visual Studio Professional 201306177
Visual Studio Premium 201306191
Visual Studio Ultimate 201306181
Visual Studio Professional 201507062
Visual Studio Enterprise 201507060
Visual Studio Professional 201708862
Visual Studio Enterprise 201708860

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Champion
Champion

Thank you for sharing this ZellOr

0 Kudos
Highlighted
User Moderator
User Moderator

Wish I could mark correct 100 times more. I've been trying to find how to do this for awhile, but the commands you found eluded me. I have successfully got an app stack working in one of my test pools. Thank you very much

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks ZellOr, worked a treat.

Horizon Client 5.4.3 Appvol Manager 2.18 Appvol Client 2.18.6 UEM 9.10
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Where is the startup.bat file located after install?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Under "C:\SnapVolumesTemp\MountPoints\<UUID>\". The startup.bat is a part of the app stack and is called when the app stack is dynamically attached, or when system starts up.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you very much. Worked a treat.

0 Kudos