VMware Horizon Community
mboye_grundfos
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

App Volumes Ansys and Addins

Hi everyone.

So I am pretty new to App Volumes, but I am starting to get the hang of it for standalone applications.

My issue at hand is with applications that depends on other applications.

To give an example. We are heavily using Ansys for simulation. In addition we use a lot of Ansys addins, as part of these simulation.

My issue is that when installing these addins, they expect Ansys to be present on the server, which I have not found a good workaround on how to solve. I have tried to force mount the app stacks to my provsioning VM before starting the new Provisioning, but then App volume manager refuse to use the VM.

The software in question is CADNexus (Depends on CATIA and Ansys), OptiSLang, Granta Gateway, Tribo-X etc.

I can see one solution is to make a massive AppStack, with Ansys and all the addins. Would that be the right way to go about it, or is there a better alternative?

Best Regards,

Mads.

Labels (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Micheal_A
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Mads,

You can not have a AppStack mounted on a provisioning VM, when your trying to provision another application or a component of one. Like your add-ins.

Here is your two options:

1. Build one big AppStack with everything in the one package.
  2. Install the main application on the provisioning VM and then make a snapshot of that install to be your base image.
    1. Then you can provision each add-in separately or all in one add-in package.

These options will be up to how you manage your appstacks and if one makes better since from an update management view.

Let us know if you have any further questions around this process.

-Michael

VMware EUC by Broadcom
https://techzone.vmware.com/

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Micheal_A
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Mads,