VMware Horizon Community
JessieWarsaw
Contributor
Contributor

Acrobat XI with serial key - users getting prompted for licensing

Hello - thanks in advance for any help!!!

I am very new to App Volumes, in fact I am only in the evaluation phase and Acrobat Pro is my first packaged app.

I capture the app as per the instructions.  During the provisioning I open Acrobat and put in a license key before finishing the AppStack.  Trouble is that the end user gets prompted with a licensing prompt on their second or third time opening the application.  They then need admin rights to apply the serial key or worse get stuck in a licensing/registration loop and can't use Acrobat.

We are running Windows 7, Acrobat Pro 11.0.0.7 upgraded to 11.0.0.15 during provisioning and AppVolume 2.10.0.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Lakshman
Champion
Champion

In general, AppStack will not capture application customization that goes into user profiles. For the same reason, the license key for Acrobat Pro has not captured.

Please try either of the below options:

1. Create a new installer for Adobe Pro using Adobe customization tool that embeeds the license key into the installer. See here: Installation and setup — Acrobat Customization Wizard DC for Windows

2. Run a batch script on the end user desktops by following this: Provisioning Adobe CS6 with Citrix PVS | Aggroworld

3. Create writable volume for each user (one to one mapping) and allow them to apply license during first launch. The license key gets saved into the writable volume

0 Kudos
Synergent
Contributor
Contributor

We use UEM to capture all the Adobe settings. Once the package is edited using the Adobe customization tool you can create an appstack just by running setup and saving the appstack, then use UEM Profiler to capture all the setting files and paths.

We are not being prompted for registration or serial.

We did not use writable volumes or run any batch scripts for this to be successful.

Everything is being done via UEM.