2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2019 9:04 AM by William_2019

    How to prevent User exchange data between VMware Fusion and MacBook

    William_2019 Lurker

      Hello There,

       

      As administrator, I want to prevent user exchange data from VMware to MacBook, I know there is one function calls isolation functions, but seems the user still can disable it and drop file.

       

      do we have any solution to prevent user doing that? for example advance setting role only for administrator can modify isolation functions?

       

      thank you very much.

       

      Will

        • 1. Re: How to prevent User exchange data between VMware Fusion and MacBook
          wila Guru
          User ModeratorsCommunity WarriorsvExpert

          Hi Will,

           

          Yes you can.

           

          In order to do so, you have to set the changes you want to have.

          Then encrypt the virtual machine. (Menu -> Virtual Machine -> Settings -> Encryption & Restrictions -> set an encryption password and wait for it to complete )

          This password you share with your user so they can use the VM.

           

          After the virtual machine is encrypted you can then add additional restrictions.

           

           

          For this you set another password on enabling the restrictions feature. This is the password you keep private.

          In order to make changes to the virtual machine you need to have the restrictions password.

           

          Hope this helps,

          --

          Wil

          | Author of Vimalin. The virtual machine Backup app for VMware Desktop Products
          | Vimalin : Automated backups for VMware Fusion and VMware Workstation Professional
          | More info at https://www.vimalin.com
          | Twitter @wilva
          | VMware Wiki at http://www.vi-toolkit.com
          • 2. Re: How to prevent User exchange data between VMware Fusion and MacBook
            William_2019 Lurker

            Thanks Wila, I make testing and found the Isolate icon was disable after enable Restrictions, then end user cannot share the data by drop.

             

            Let me test more testing, thank your quick help and response!

             

            Will