VMware Cloud Community
zeroNorth
Contributor
Contributor

HP Smart Array P420i warning

Hi,

I got a brand new DL380p gen8 Server with 8 300GB SAS disks in 2 raid 5, and installed esxi from the branded image: VMware-ESXi-5.1.0-799733-HP-5.34.23.iso on the first raid.

Everything seems to be working fine but I get a warning for the Smart Array P420i controller in the Hardware Health Status.

I checked ILO and everything is ok there. I have uploaded the machines Active Health System log to HP and they say everything is working properly.

Has anyone else had a similar Problem?

rgds,

franz

0 Kudos
68 Replies
a_nut_in
Expert
Expert

Hey Franz,

What errors are you seeing?

Regards

a

Do remember to mark my post as "helpful" or "correct" if I've helped resolve or answer your query!
0 Kudos
zeroNorth
Contributor
Contributor

Hi a,

I’m not very experienced with VMware, I only see the yellow sign with the exclamation mark beside the controller name.

Battery status and disks are reported ok.

Could you please give me a hint where to look further for an actual error message?

Thanks for your reply,

franz

0 Kudos
a_nut_in
Expert
Expert

Hey Franz,

Do you have a + sign you can probably expand or something? Not sure what screen you are at. Can you take a screenshot and share that?

Regards

a

Do remember to mark my post as "helpful" or "correct" if I've helped resolve or answer your query!
0 Kudos
vlho
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi all,

I think that in new custom image of ESXi version 5.34.23 from HP is bug.

Previous version was OK, but after upgrade I see the same warning without next info and reasons.

I tested this on more HP servers with various model of controllers SmartArray.

0 Kudos
zeroNorth
Contributor
Contributor

Hi a,

here is a screen shot...

everyting else is reported ok.

Regards

franz

0 Kudos
a_nut_in
Expert
Expert

Could be a driver or firmware that is outdated