VMware Cloud Community
chriswu11111
Contributor
Contributor

How to Team network cards in VMware esxi 5.0

Hi All,

I'm new to vmware and this forum please forgive me if i have put the request in the wrong area.

My lack of vmware knowledge has brought me here to ask for help and thank you in advance for any advice i recieve.

Please see attached picture for more details.

As you can see in my picture i have put 3 nic cards for my virtual switch (network switch R710). I am looking to put all the servers I virtualise onto that virtual switch. I would like to make use of the 3 nic cards to increase the bandwidth i use for the servers and allow for load balancing on the three cards.

I have as you can see put the three nic cards together for that switch and also clicked on load balancing on it.

The following is what i would like to do:

The 3 nics will all have separate ip's lets say for argument sake 192.168.55.1 to .3. Now i would like all three to have a shared address as .4 so it will appear on DNS as .4 rather than .1 and .2 and .3

Is there anyway you can do that in vmware or am i going to have to have 3 entries in DNS for the same esxi server as 3 separate ip addresses.

thanks for your help guys!

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
RazvanVladVCP
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

You assign IP addresses only to virtual adapters, not a vmnic directly.

You can define 1 or more virtual adapters on one virtual switch. You can have 1 virtual adapter for traffic management, 1 for vmotion, 1 for secondary traffic management, 1 for iSCSI for example. You can balance a virtual adapter to all 3 vmnics just like you defined the switch.

Thank you,

Razvan

0 Kudos
chriswu11111
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

Thank you for your response.

I don't quite understand what you mean. Sorry about that. If you have any step by step that would be great.

When i plug in all three physical cables into the 3 nics i get 3 differenet ip addresses from my dhcp server e.g. 192.168.55.1, 2 and 3.