VMware Communities
Avagadro
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Configure host and VM on two separate wireless networks

Hello community, I've been a long time browser but this will be my first post.

I'd like to start out by saying I've always found the answer I was looking for by browsing these forums, and that I have browsed discussions related to this topic and consulted the chapters concerning virtual networking in the Workstation 7.1 manual, but at this point still have been unable to solve my problem.

The scenario:

I am a small business owner working out of a home(upstairs)/hookah lounge (downstairs). We recently got a second internet connection (WORK), in addition to my family's home internet (HOME), to provide our customers with free wi-fi. I would like to utilize the WORK connection (during our off hours) in an Ubuntu VM for folding and seeding torrents. I want to set this up to where the traffic on one network will not affect the other.

The network:

Host OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Network adapter (host): Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG (Mini PCI)

VM: Ubuntu 10.04 on VMWare Workstation 7.0.0 build-203739

Network adapter (VM): Alfa awus036h (USB)

The current configuration:

Network connection is bridged, Replicate physical physical network state is unchecked.

The Alfa is connected to the virtual machine and no longer shows up on the Windows list of network adapters.

It seems I have to manually disable the "auto eth 1" interface or the VM uses the host internet connection instead of the desired network that the Alfa connects to in VMWorkstation. The internet speed with auto eth 1 is connected is fast and consistent, but using it defeats the purpose. Strangely, when I go the the network connections, under "last used" for "auto eth 1," it says "never."