VMware Horizon Community
MartinGagnon
Contributor
Contributor

After linking, copying a necessary file from one package to another

I am a newbie with ThinApp and presently am in a testing scenario with the Evaluation version of ThinApp 4.6.0-287958 and I am in a Windows XP Pro SP3 environment.

I am packaging MS Office 2003 and a software called MultiTrans.  I cannot package them together as not all of the desktops would receive the second package.

MS Office 2003 package was created

MultiTrans package was created

OptionalAppLinks was configured in each of the according Package.ini so that they can communicate together

Now, what I need to do is that when MultiTrans is installed, it needs to copy a .dot file in the packaged MS Office 2003 installation.  Office launches this .dot file at startup for Office to communicate with MultiTrans. 

I now need to make it so that when the MSI of MultiTrans is launched, that it copies the file in question.

Multitrans MSI package resides at U:\ThinApp Beta V1.0\Projects\MT44_Translator_English\bin\MT44_Translator_English.msi

Multitrans installs at : C:\Documents and Settings\DEV-EN\Application Data\MT44_Translator_English (VMware ThinApp)\MT44_Translator_English.dat

MS Office 2003 installas at : C:\Documents and Settings\DEV-EN\Application Data\MS Office 2003 EN-STD + 2007 Compability Pack (VMware ThinApp)\MS Office 2003 EN-STD + 2007 Compability Pack.dat

It would be to copy %ProgramFilesDir%\MultiCorpora\MultiTrans 4.4\MultiTrans Client\en\TranstermII_Word.dot of the MultiTrans package to the installation of MS Office 2003 into %ProgramFilesDir%\Microsoft Office\Office11\STARTUP.

While writting this message, I realized that I really need to shorten my packages and path names.  I will be working on that.  Sorry for the inconvenience.

I have attached my Package.ini files but had to rename them to do so..

MT-Package.ini = MultiTrans

MS-Package.ini = MS Office 2003

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MartinGagnon
Contributor
Contributor