VMware Cloud Community
SetClear
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VI ToolKit for Windows - PowerShell: Cloning Hot/Live VM's

Is it possible to clone a running (Live/Hot) VM using the VI ToolKit. I am new to PowerShell and before delving into it I need to know if this is possible.

Or would it be possible to create the clone and then take snapshots and appliy them to the clone?

Which would be a better method of keeping a secondary instance of the VM up to date?

0 Kudos
12 Replies
gary1012
Expert
Expert

Check out pgs. 13 and 20 in this doc. It may help you out.

Automating VMware with PowerShell

Community Supported, Community Rewarded - Please consider marking questions answered and awarding points to the correct post. It helps us all.
SetClear
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Gary,

Thank you for the useful information, but it does not answer the questions I have.

(We are running the latest versions of ESX V3.5 U2 Version 120512(or something close to that) along with VirtualCenter 2.5 U2.)

Is it possible to clone a running VM from VI ToolKit? (If so what is the syntax)?

Can you apply Snaps from a running VM to a offline clone of itself to keep it in sync using VI ToolKit/ (If so what is the syntax)?

Which would be the more efficient method of keeping a stand by image of an important VM?

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Not exactly. You have a few options:

1. You can use Lab Manager, refer to this thread.

2. You can use VMware Converter to live clone the VM as if it were a physical system.

3. You can use VCB, which can be automated through PowerShell.

I'm not quite sure what you're trying to do, but each of these would serve a somewhat different need.

SetClear
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks for the info...

What we are trying to acomplish is to have a clone of an important VM updated automatically (within a resonalble timeframe) so that if/when it goes down hard (BSOD) we can fire up the clone.