VMware Cloud Community
Legendary
Contributor
Contributor

2 locations, 2 ESX 3.5 servers, 2 SAN's. How do I replicate?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to ESX. We are planning to set up the following situation:

• 2 locations connected to each other with 10Gb fibre. Distance is 93,2 metres.

• On every location there will be a HP DL580 server with ESX 3.5 Enterprise edition installed on it.

• On every location there will be a HP MSA2000 SAN (FC model).

I would like to achieve the following::

• On each location there will be active VM's.

• I want to replicate the SAN's so that in case one of the locations is unavailable the host on the second location will take over the active VM's on the first location.

I've got the following questions:

• Can I use Storage Vmotion to replicate the SAN's or do I need third-party software? If so, which software?

• Taking into account that every location only uses 1 host machine, do I need SAN switches?

• As soon as the failover takes place, do the VM's start up automatically on the other location or do I need to permorm manual actions to accomplish this?

I hope you can help me with this case.

Best regards,,

Aico

P.S. I just read the following article:

I think this is exactly what I need. (Also for my third DR site that I didn't mention yet. :smileyblush:) Do any of you know anything about this product and when the release date is planned? This is just to get some extra information. The most important thing is answers to my story above.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
aguacero
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Double Take and VizionCore are big players in this area.

http://www.doubletake.com/applications/virtual-systems.aspx

http://www.vizioncore.com/vReplicator.html

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!
0 Kudos
DougBaer
Commander
Commander